top of page

The Importace of Feedback

Next Tuesday is a big day for me. A local sixth grade class will be reading my book as a class assignment. The teacher, Stephanie and I are not 100% sure how we will work through this, but I am so excited for the feedback.

I printed out and bound copies of the manuscript. On our first day, I will read the first two chapters to the class. I made the copies with wide margines and I hope that the kids scribble down every thought that passes through those little 12-year-old brains! After all - a focus group with your target customers is priceless!

I will also be showing the kids my book's Pinterest Board. I used the board to gather photos for character inspiration as well as to gather historic information about the Russian Royal family and Princess Anastasia. One of my "bad guys" is the evil priest Rasputin.

I could picture the character Wren in my head - a hip kid, but a loner. When I saw this photo, I wanted to shout, "That's Wren!"

Same for Reed. He had to be an average looking kid who was nerdy but could clean up nicely. So you have to image this kid with terrible hair and his t-shirt tucked into his high jeans.

Lastly, I wanted to find my character, Gretchen Goodwin - a gorgeous, ambitious Regional Vice-President of an international Tech company.

This actress, the beautiful Sarah Rafferty, fit the bill perfectly. It makes me want to have my book made into a movie, just so she can be cast as

Gretchen!

So, would you like to give me some feedback? Does my Pinterest board pique your interest in the story?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page