top of page

100 Words (or fewer)

Contest!

I love a contest! I am not even a competitive sort, but I guess I like the challenge. So while browsing literary blogs last week, I came across a writing contest sponsored by New York City Literary Agent Janet Reid. She represents only writers of grown-up fiction, so she would not be interested in my middle-grade novel, Nitpicky Corners, but I saw the word CONTEST and had to look at the rules.

The contest was to write a story and submit it. Janet would read all the entries (I was surprised by how many writers participate in these things), and select a list of finalists and a winner. Here is the tough part: The story HAD TO INCLUDE the following words: sand, long, max, bill, and beach. AND it had to be 100 words or fewer*. That is not even one good paragraph.

I was hooked. All told, it took me fewer than 15 minutes to whip up my entry.

I hit "submit" and then had to wait until Monday morning for the results. When Monday came, I sort of forgot about it, until I got home from the gym and then I quickly logged in to see the results. As i scrolled down, I saw that on the list of finalists - there was my name! I was so excited (I know - it is just a silly contest, but I was excited). Then I continued to scroll down so that I could read the winning entry. To my utter shock - I had won! These are the kind words that Janet had to say about my entry:

This week's winner in an EXTREMELY competitive field, and for an entry that is both topical, and a masterpiece of understated, elegant story telling:

(4) S.D. King 1:20pm

So here is my 100 word story:

(4) S.D. King 1:20pm

Scanning the crowded airport he spotted her: long sandy hair, squatting by her backpack, eyes closed, looking sick. He just needed fifty bills max for a cab to the beach and a cheap motel. Snatching the bag, the straps tangled round her feet, and she fell forward. Grabbing his ankles, she pulled him to the floor. To reach her bag, she crawled atop him, and it almost looked like she might plant a kiss, but instead she vomited in his hair, and collapsed. Still dripping in the cab he read her passport: Emergency Medical Personnel, World Health Organization, Sierra Leone.

airport-84240_640.jpg

Here is a link to her blog if you would like to read some of the other entries:

http://jetreidliterary.blogspot.com/

So, I think I am hooked. I spend most of my days writing and submitting work, but I think I am going to spend some time challenging myself to something new. How about you??

* Note that I did not use 100 words or less. Less is used for things that cannot be counted "less sunshine", "less happy". Fewer is used anytime a thing can be counted - like words.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page